Article 2 – Membership of the Authority

2.1 Composition and Eligibility

The Authority comprises nineteen (19) Members, 18 of whom must be an elected councillor of one of the five constituent District Councils comprised within Merseyside, plus the Police & Crime Commissioner for Merseyside. The constituent Councils appoint elected Members to the Authority in accordance with the provisions of the Local Government Act 1985. These appointments are made (subject to compliance with the political balance requirements of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989) in the following numbers:-

Liverpool 6 Members
Wirral 4 Members
Sefton 4 Members
St. Helens 2 Members
Knowsley 2 Members

The Police & Crime Commissioner for Merseyside